Log in

New Jersey Music Teachers Association


A reminder to students and parents: If you have questions about event results, please contact the student's teacher.  Do not email the event chairpersons.  Thank you for your cooperation!  

<< First  < Prev   1   2   3   4   Next >  Last >> 
  • Monday, November 05, 2018 11:57 AM | Emily Lau (Administrator)



    Compositions by Juri Seo


    Eric Li


    Intermediate Piano - Sonatine, mvt I  

    Chiu-Ling Lin

    Annabelle Chow


    Stella Xu

    Adora Rao


    Stella Xu

    Claire Hua


    Beginner Piano - Sonatine, mvt II

    Chloris Li

    Jordan Guo


    Stella Xu

    Angela Zhang


    Chiu-Tze Lin

    Patrick Sun


    Advanced Piano - Sonatine, mvt III

    Stella Xu

    Ellie Shin


    Grace Yang

    Catherine Jiang (piano)  


    Violin & Piano Duo - Arco

    Chiu-Tze Lin

    Nora Lee (violin)

    Yousun Kim

  • Tuesday, October 30, 2018 6:45 PM | Mi-Young Kim (Administrator)

    Congratulations to all of the students for their participation!

    The scholarship recipient for the 2018 NJMTA High School Scholarship for Performance is Kelsey Lee (Teacher - Beatrice Long)

    Alternate: Sherwin Pan (Teacher - Chiu-Tze Lin)

    Kelsey will perform  at the NJMTA State Conference on Sunday, November 11 at 9:00-11:00am.

    There were no entries for Music Education / Pedagogy.

  • Sunday, October 28, 2018 10:07 PM | Mi-Young Kim (Administrator)

    Results of 2018 Young Musicians Competitions -

    Woodwinds: 2018 YMC - Woodwinds.pdf

    Strings: 2018 YMC - Strings.pdf

    Voice: 2018 YMC - Voice.pdf

    Chinese Instruments: 2018 YMC - Chinese Instruments.pdf

  • Sunday, October 28, 2018 10:36 AM | Wei-Yuh Xie (Administrator)

    For complete results of the 2018 MTNA Student Performance Competitions, please click here

  • Saturday, June 09, 2018 1:02 PM | Emily Lau (Administrator)

    The music scores for the 2018 NJMTA Commissioned Composer Competition are now available for purchase. The composer this year is Princeton University faculty, Juri Seo. See the website here for the composer's biography, sample pages of the music, and details for the fall competition.

    Commissioned works by juri seo:

    Sonatine (Piano solo: I. Intermediate, II. Beginning, III. Advanced) $18**
    Arco (violin and piano duo) $10
    *Photo credit Andrew Wilkinson
    **Price was previously listed incorrectly as $15


    PayPal payment is preferred. A limited stock of previously commissioned works are available for purchase as well.

    Please contact Emily Lau with any questions. Thank you!

  • Friday, March 16, 2018 11:39 PM | Mi-Young Kim (Administrator)

    Congratulations to NJMTA board member Christina Xie for being elected to the position of Eastern Division Director for the 2020-2022 term!  She will serve as Director-Elect from now until that time.  

    Christina has served on the NJMTA Board since 2004. She has served as Chair for Spring Recital Auditions as well as the President of NJMTA. She is the current chair for the New Jersey and Eastern Division MTNA Competitions, and was named an MTNA Foundation Fellow in 2017. 

    Thank you to all of the NJMTA members who supported Christina in the election!

  • Thursday, November 30, 2017 8:16 PM | Mi-Young Kim (Administrator)

     I hope everyone had a very nice & happy Thanksgiving with families, relatives and friends!

    On behalf of NJMTA I thank all the teachers for your wonderful students and their participations. Your valuable teaching and experience are constantly raising the level of performance for strings at every event of NJMTA. 

    As is the usual case at the NJMTA State Conference, we had three performers from Young Musicians Competition. Their performance gave us such an unforgettable memory!  For the age group of 10 and under, the first place winner was Katherine Jung. Tienne Yu was the first place winner in the age group of 11-14. She had also been the first place winner in the youngest group in 2014. From the age group of 15-17 Emily Wang held her first place title for the second consecutive year. Bravi to these wonderful young talent violinists! Bravi to the teachers for their great teaching, and the families, for their endless support behind the scenes!


    For the first time since 2009 during which I’ve been chair for the strings department for NJMTA, we held a chamber music master class at the NJMTA Conference. We had three fine guest artists coaching the master class: Anne Ku, violinist, Rachel Ku, violist and Mr. Glenn Fischbach, cellist. Five chamber music groups participated: two string quartets, two piano trios and one piano quintet. It was my first time hosting a chamber music master class, and I feel that it was a tremendous experience and a great opportunity for the chamber music players. Studying a string instrument can be a challenge, but playing with other people in a group is so much fun! I assure you that this program will continue to grow in the future. 


    Once again thank you very much for your support and your wonderful students!


    Ingrid Tang

    String Chair of NJMTA

  • Tuesday, November 07, 2017 1:14 AM | Yi Yang

    Young Musicians Competition Winners - Chinese Instruments

                                      Yang Yi, Chairperson

    Age Group Prize Student Teacher
    11-14  2nd Brittany Deng, guzheng, age 12 Yang Yi
    3rd Dongfang Qu, guzheng, age 13 Yang Yi
    HM Rachael Ngai, guzheng, age 13 Yang Yi
    HM Christopher Lee, guzheng, age 11 Yang Yi
    15-17 1st Emily Yang, guzheng, age 16 Yang Yi
    3rd Zi Rou Chen, guzheng, age 15 Yang Yi
    HM Naitian Zhang, guzheng, age 17 Yang Yi
    HM Eileen Yang, guzheng, age 15 Yang Yi
    Group   1st Bree Zhang, Emily Yang Yang Yi
    2nd ZiRou Chen, Eileen Yang,
    Rachael Ngai, Dongfang Qu, Brittany Deng, Christopher Lee, YuRu Lin, JianNing Wang,
    Hao Lawrence Chen, Chen Zara Myrna Chen
    Yang Yi

<< First  < Prev   1   2   3   4   Next >  Last >> 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software