2019 Conference - Commissioned Composer Competition


AUDITION DATE: Sunday, November 3, 2019

PLace: Westminster Choir College

Performance Date: Saturday, November 16, 2019

Meet the Composer: 3:15 PM-3:45 PM at Cullen Center Room 1

Winners’ Concert: 4:00 PM-6:00 PM at Cullen Center Hillman Hall

Hear the Performances of the Commissioned Works

Every year, the NJMTA commissions a living composer to create four original compositions for piano students to learn and perform in a competition. A performance of these pieces by the winners is held in November to promote interest in new music by living composers.  The winners will be chosen by the composer and will perform at the NJMTA State Conference on November 16, 2019.

Commissioned Composer : Alexander Timofeev

Alexander Timofeev

Alexander Timofeev

Philadelphia‐based composer and pianist Alexander Timofeev merges various Eastern European and American influences to create music of intense emotion, lyricism and dynamic movement.
Timofeev debuted at age 19 performing his Concerto for Piano and Orchestra (2003) with the National Philharmonic Orchestra of Moldova. Among his accolades is the Audience Choice Award and Commission at the American Composers Orchestra's 2017 Underwood New Music Readings; he is the finalist of 2018 International Competition of the Moscow Conservatory for Young Composers ‘New Classics’, winner of the 2016 Richard Weerts Composition Competition, and finalist of the 2016 Thailand International Composition Festival Competition.

His compositions have been broadcast on WQXR ‐ New York's Classical Music Station and presented in live performances on Pro TV (Romania) and Tele‐Radio Moldova.

As a pianist, Timofeev won Third Prize at the 2007 MTNA Young Artist Piano Competition (Toronto), First Prizes at Niš International Piano Competition, Serbia (2006) and at the Margaret Guthman Piano Competition, Atlanta. He appeared as a soloist with the Pennsylvania Ballet Orchestra, Iasi Philharmonic Orchestra (Romania), Radio‐Television Orchestra of St. Petersburg (Russia), Eastman School of Music Orchestra, Philharmonic and Chamber Orchestras of Moldova and others.

Alexander Timofeev completed his D.M.A. in piano performance at the University of Maryland, College Park (2012). He holds a Master of Music degree from the Eastman School of Music (2008) and B.M. double degree in piano performance and composition from Rowan University (2006). His composition teachers include Zlata Tkach, Harold Oliver, and Lawrence K. Moss. Timofeev studied piano with Veda Zuponcic, Larissa Dedova, Douglas Humpherys, Victor Levinzon, Aliona Vardanean. Alexander Timofeev is currently Artist‐in‐Residence and Adjunct Professor at Rowan University in Glassboro, New Jersey.


Falling Snow (Beginner piano)
Two-Step (Intermediate piano)
Dance with Mirrors (Advanced piano)
Dark Hour (Duet for piano and alto sax/flute/clarinet)